Qatar 2022 (قطر 2022): FIFA World Cup

In terms of participation and spectatorship, football is the sport that is most popular in Qatar. The 2022 FIFA World Cup will be held in the country, which makes the history as the first Arab country to host the event. Qatar received the right to host the 2022 FIFA World Cup on December 2, 2010. “Qatar 2022 (Arabic: قطر 2022) is indeed history in the making”. The country provides amazing oceanfront settings and is ready to provide the perfect atmosphere for the FIFA world cup 2022. [1]

In this article, we are going to discuss in detail all you need to know about the Qatar 2022 FIFA world cup. Please do well comment and share this post after reading, thank you.

Now, let’s head straight to Qatar!

Qater airways

Football in Qatar

There are two tiers of domestic professional football leagues in Qatar. [2] The Qatar Stars League (QSL), the premier division, has seen multiple expansions in recent years. The league increased from 10 to twelve clubs in 2009, and it did so once more in May 2013 by two clubs, increasing the total number of teams in the top division to fourteen. Depending on the teams’ popularity, between 2,000 and 10,000 people attend QSL games.[3]

With two separate victories in the continental club tournament, Al Sadd is the most successful sports club in the nation. Between 2012 and 2014, former Real Madrid and Spain striker Raul Gonzalez played for Al Sadd. In July 2015, the club also revealed the signing of former FC Barcelona and Spain playmaker Xavi. Xavi retired after the conclusion of the 2018–19 season, and the club named him its new head coach in May 2019.

Qatar was given the privilege of hosting both the 2019 and 2020 FIFA Club World Cups in June 2019 by FIFA. The FIFA Club World Cup, which served as a benchmark for the FIFA World Cup in 2022, was completed on December 21, 2019, in Qatar. The Supreme Committee for Delivery & Legacy’s (SC) Secretary-General, Hassan al-Thawadi, nevertheless hailed the competition as one of its most prosperous editions ever.

FIFA world cup 2022

The FIFA World Cup in Qatar 2022

The FIFA World Cup (Arabic: كأس العالم), a quadrennial international men’s football championship played between the senior national teams of FIFA member countries, is set to take place for the 22nd time in 2022. From November 21 to December 18, 2022, Qatar is where it will be held. Following the 2002 World Cup, which was hosted in South Korea and Japan, this will be the second World Cup to be held exclusively in Asia. This Qatar 2022 tournament will also be the last time 32 teams will participate in a FIFA world cup tournament. The 2026 FIFA world cup will feature 48 teams instead of 32 and will be hosted in the United States, Mexico, and Canada.

This World Cup will be the first to not be hosted in May, June, or July due to the extreme summer heat in Qatar. It will instead be played over a shorter period of time, roughly 28 days, from late November to mid-December.

On September 3, 2019, the FIFA World Cup 2022 logo was unveiled in Doha. Since the 2022 FIFA will be the first to be held during the winter, the logo features a wool shawl and draws inspiration from the Arab culture.

Qatar 2022 world cup
Qatar 2022 Logo

The Qatar 2022 Controversies

The World Cup bid became mired in scandal soon after Qatar was chosen to host it, including claims of bribery. The Qatar hosting of the 2022 World Cup also drew criticism from European football associations. The effect of high temperature on players’ physical condition and the potential disruption to European domestic league schedules were a couple of their justifications. However, FIFA and Qatar came to an agreement in March 2015 that the competition will take place in November and December of 2022.

A £3 million bribe was allegedly made to authorities in May 2014 by Qatari football executive Mohammed bin Hammam in exchange for their backing of the country’s candidacy. Nonetheless, Qatar was exonerated by a FIFA investigation into the selection process in November 2014.

A little documentary titled “Abuse and exploitation of migrant workers preparing emirate for 2022” was created by The Guardian, a British national daily newspaper. According to The Guardian, migrant workers who had been building opulent offices for the 2022 World Cup organizers had not received pay in more than a year and were “working illegally from cockroach-infested lodgings.” In response to a number of accusations, the Qatar 2022 organizing committee asserted that staging the World Cup there would serve as a “catalyst for transformation” in the region.

But hey, these controversies can’t stop the love for the game, “football is the heartbeat of sports”. We at Sports Science Gh are very excited about the tournament’s fixtures in November-December, may the best team win.

Qualified Nations For The 2022 FIFA World Cup

13 European countries, four South American, four Asian, five African, four North American, and Australia, a member of the Asian confederation, have qualified for the tournament in addition to the host country, Qatar.

The whole 32-team field for the 2022 World Cup can be found in the table below, along with information on when each country secured their spot.

1QatarAsiaDec. 2, 2010
2GermanyEuropeOct. 11, 2021
3DenmarkEuropeOct. 12, 2021
4BrazilS. AmericaNov. 11, 2021
5France EuropeNov. 13, 2021
6Belgium EuropeNov. 13, 2021
7Croatia EuropeNov. 14, 2021
8Spain EuropeNov. 14, 2021
9Serbia EuropeNov. 14, 2021
10England EuropeNov. 15, 2021
11Switzerland EuropeNov. 15, 2021
12Netherlands EuropeNov. 16, 2021
13Argentina S. AmericaNov. 16, 2021
14Iran AsiaJan. 27, 2022
15South KoreaAsiaFeb. 1, 2022
16Japan AsiaMar. 24, 2022
17Saudi ArabiaAsiaMar. 24, 2022
18EcuadorS. AmericaMar. 24, 2022
19Uruguay S. AmericaMar. 24, 2022
20Canada N. AmericaMar. 27, 2022
21Ghana AfricaMar. 29, 2022
22Senegal AfricaMar. 29, 2022
23Portugal EuropeMar. 29, 2022
24Poland EuropeMar. 29, 2022
25Tunisia AfricaMar. 29, 2022
26Morocco AfricaMar. 29, 2022
27Cameroon AfricaMar. 29, 2022
28USA N. AmericaMar. 30, 2022
29Mexico N. AmericaMar. 30, 2022
30Wales EuropeJune 5, 2022
31Australia AsiaJune 13, 2022
32Costa RicaN. AmericaJune 14, 2022
A table of the qualified nations for the Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup

The 2022 FIFA World cup Groupings

The 32 teams will compete in eight groups of four to start the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

  1. Group A: Senegal, the Netherlands, Qatar, Ecuador.
  2. Group B: England, Iran, the United States.
  3. Group C: Mexico, Poland, Argentina, Saudi Arabia.
  4. Group D: Tunisia, France, Australia, Denmark.
  5. Group E: Germany, Japan, Spain, Costa Rica.
  6. Group F: Morocco, Belgium, Canada, and Croatia
  7. Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, and Camerun.
  8. Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea.

Did you like this article? Please let us know your thoughts in the comment section below, as it helps us to improve the content we serve you.

You can also read on The Stressful Demands Of A Penalty Kick In Football.

About the author

CEO and Founder at Sports Science Gh | Website

RND (RD) // MPhil Human Nutrition and Dietetic // BSc Sports and Exercise Science

Emmanuel Amankrah Kwofie
Emmanuel Amankrah Kwofie

RND (RD) // MPhil Human Nutrition and Dietetic // BSc Sports and Exercise Science

Articles: 5

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: